Uncategorized

Michael Tipper – Mountain Climber

Name – Michael Tipper

Why and when did you start running – I started running to get away from my problems, relationship break up.

Are you an affiliated club runner – Yes, I run for Stockport Harriers

Favorite race 2019 – The Stanley Park 10k in February

Worst race 2019 – Not from 2019 but the worst one for me is the Manchester Marathon from 2018. I was running with a plan to get a sub 3 hour and I knew I was capable of it, the plan started to fall apart and as it did I felt my mental strength fall apart too. I saw one of the portaloo’s at the side of the road and I went inside to compose myself but couldn’t and that’s when the tears came.

PB’s set in 2019 – Got a new 10k PB at the Stanley Park 10k, completed this in 36:51

Favorite medal or prize if not a medal – The Snowdon Half medal

Are you on a current running streak? How long – Is that where you take your clothes off and go running? What time? Is it just me and you?

Have you been Injury free all year – No, I was injured last year so just been getting back into it

Morning or evening runs – I just run when I can really

Flat or Hills – Both

Road or Trail – Depends on the time of year.

How many Miles or KMs have you run for the year to date – I’ve only managed 674 miles this year, but I have climbed a few mountains too

What running shoes do you use – Nike Zoom Fly

Favorite running moment 2019 (magic moment) – Running moment has got to be my PB at Stanley Park in Feb, did I mention i did it in 36:51? Also winning my age category at the Outlon Park Dulathlon

Special non running moment/achievement for the year – I have organised a couple of charity run’s from Frankies Sandwich Bar in Denton and seeing so many people turn up each time has been amazing!

Goals for 2020 – My goals for 2020 are to get back to where I was and to be able to challenge the mighty Mark Collier again. I also have a little trip planned in March which i’m fundraising for and it’s to hike/climb the 14 days all the way to Mount Everest base camp. I’m doing this to support the Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital and you can sponsor me through Just Giving: https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/michael-tipper3 – The hospital interviewed me about my reasons for fundraising and the challenge itself, if you fancy a read of that then please click on the following link: https://rmchcharity.org.uk/news/postman-set-climb-everest – and honestly any donations to my just giving link would be massively appreciated and will go a long way to helping the charity with their current projects.

Favourite Pictures of the Year: