Uncategorized

Mike Bennett – Smiler

Name – Michael Bennett

Why and when did you start running – I started about a week after my dad passed away (6 years in march 2020). Whilst at his wake it was mentioned by jonathan, his friend, that dad still had an open ticket to the London Marathon as he wanted to do it one last time for himself. Dad had already done it 3 times before getting a medal for me, Dave & Daz his 3 sons, the last one was for himself. Unfortunately he had cancer and passed away before he had the chance to do it again, I said I would like the opportunity but I was slightly over weight and couldn’t run up the street and I was told it was probably the beer talking, so I got a pair of trainers and started running….. 2 years later I was accepted into the Blackpool Marathon and in 2018 I got my entry accepted in the London marathon to fulfill my dads one last wish…. I’ve managed to complete the best part of 50 competitions since I started.

Are you an affiliated club runner – I was affiliated with Fylde Coast Runners but not anymore.

Favorite race 2019 – My most favourite race isn’t from 2019, nothing will ever top the London Marathon I did for my dad in 2018

Worst race 2019 – Worst race was the West Coast half marathon. We made the news by running in a 60mph storm and heavy rain. It was so cold I couldn’t feel anything!

Favorite medal or prize if not a medal – My favorite medal is again my London marathon medal and my blackpool marathon medals

Are you on a current running streak? How long – No running streak

Have you been Injury free all year – I had a torn tendon in my knee but i’ve not had any problems for a while now

Morning or evening runs – Sunday morning runs are the best ones

Flat or Hills – Flat all the way lol

Road or Trail – Road running

Run solo or in a group – I run solo as I finish work at various times so when I come home I tend to go straight out, its hard to plan things like group runs

What running shoes do you use – New balance trainers for me

Special non running moment/achievement for the year – Completing the Born Survivor event…. Twice!!

Goals for 2020 – More events and more medals

Favorite Picture – My London Marathon finishers picture from last year

Anything else you want to add – Its been great to do runs with the Daddies Escape guys, it’s a real buzz when you’ve got all your friends and family in one place and at the finish line cheering you on xxxx