Uncategorized

Shaun Chambers – The Coach

Why and when did you start running – I started running about 4 years ago to lose weight and get fitter, the last time I ran was when I was at school so not that long ago honest 😊, definitely the best decision I’ve made as I’ve met so many good friends and I was also was at the start of the Daddies forming.

Are you an affiliated runner – I run for Salford Harriers

Favourite race 2019 – I had 2 races that stand out for different reasons the first being Manchester Marathon running with Nicky for a GFA time which she achieved. Secondly, London Marathon as it was a race I’ve always wanted to run and I will be running it again next year. Special mention for fell runs too, love them.

Worst race 2019 – I don’t really have a bad race as I try to take something positive out of each run, the one that did pee me off was the Wrexham Half due to injury as my knee went at mile 10 and was on for a PB but still enjoyed the run.

PBS set in 2019 – 5k mid-Cheshire 17.56 / 10K Salford 37.16 / Parkrun PB at Stretford 18.11

Favourite Medal – London Marathon and the Windmill 10K

Are you currently on a running streak – I’m currently on my second running streak first one ended due to injury which lasted for 259 days, The present run streak is currently on 846 days but is due to come to an end soon due to my hernia operation.

Since sending me this blog back earlier in December, Shaun has had his hernia operation and is recovering well and even back out running. Unfortunately this brought to an end his run streak at 853 consecutive days! Take a bow Mr Chambers!

Have you been injury free this year – Luckily the injury I sustained at Wrexham didn’t stop my running it just meant I had to run less miles and at an easier pace.

Morning or evening runs – I enjoy running both times

Flats or Hills – I love hills as they make you stronger but also enjoy flats, track is really good for speed training.

Road or Trail – Again I enjoy both and also love a bit of fell running

Run solo or in a group – I like to run both, enjoy the group runs as you get to know the people you run with better and the solo run is good to keep you focused and is also good therapy.

How many miles have you run this year? – Currently on 2261 miles don’t have any mileage goal

What running shoes do you use – Brooks Ghost 11 Hoka one one

Favourite running moment 2019 – Had quite a few favourite moments this year London and Manchester Marathon, Salford 10k & Whaley Waltz (jumping into the river)

Special non running moment/achievement – Watching Liverpool win the Champions league for the 6th time

Goals for 2020 – Will be going for PBS in all race distances, Do the full Tour of Tameside again, Accelerate Gritstone Series, PB the London Marathon, Complete the 4 Castles Series, Try for an England Masters vest

Favourite picture of the year – Hmmm again a couple saddleworth 6.2 or Dovestone Diamond, Manchester Marathon maybe….. but this is one of the best i’ve seen….

Anything else – I’ve enjoyed this years running I’ve learnt loads, got into fell running which takes

I’ve enjoyed this years running I’ve learnt loads, got into fell running which takes you to some really great places, done my LIRF which I enjoy doing with HRC,