Have you ever been driving somewhere and when you arrive, you can’t quite remember how you got there?
Now I’m not sure why that is but it resonates with my experiences of running with Daddies Escape. Once, running was something I thought I should be doing; to keep fit, to stave off middle aged spread and to prevent the onset of problems associated with ageing. Like driving, I don’t quite know how I got here.

I’m now addicted and in a good way. I don’t need counselling (in denial?) and I weigh less than I did 10 years ago. My resting heart rate is about 40 bpm and in a recent MOT at the hospital, a cardiologist convinced himself that he thinks he should be doing more to keep fit! I feel fitter, stronger and generally happier. If I’m beginning to feel moody, my wife will throw my trainers into the porch and say “Go for a run”, safe in the knowledge I’ll come back in a different and better mood. 

I can’t quite put my finger on it but the Daddies Escape recipe has all the right ingredients to improve you as a runner. You start as a jogger but become a fully fledged runner; and in a very short time. There is no such thing as a bad time or a poor run, just heaps of encouragement from people who know how hard it is to get going as they’ve all been through it. Can’t make a run due to home or work commitments? That’s fine as they all have this at some time (apart from Shaun and Liam!) They’ll just be happy to see you next time. 

Chuck in the variety of runs, the post-run diet of coffee and of course the sought-after club shirt and you’ll be on your way to your first race before you know it. 

In between all this, your phone will buzz 50 times a day as your WhatsApp messenger alerts you to posts from the group members (‘The Daddies’) with the latest race news, training run plans and proposed meet ups, car-sharing for races and occasionally, if you would like to buy a tie. 

Interested, just get in touch and come out for a run with us. You’ll be really glad you did. 

Leave a Reply

